IMG 1140A team composed of 9 technical personnel from the Mines and Geosciences Bureau-RIX (MGB),     was recently dispatched and had effectively served the Cease and Desist Order (CDO) against alleged illegal small scale miners in Barangays JS Perfecto and San Fernandino, both in the Municipality of RT Lim, and Barangays Payungan, Kauswagan and Milagrosa all in the Municipality of Alicia, Zamboanga Sibugay on February 15 and 17 2017, respectively.  The said CDO was served/implemented in coordination with the Philippine National Police (PNP), Philippine Army, and the LGU of RT Lim.

During the separate pre-conferences for each LGU held a day before the implementation, CDO implementers involved were reminded of the powers and limitations of the CDO, emphasizing that no dismantling of equipment/implements shall be involved because the CDO does not cover the same other than the dismantling of specific parts of the machineries that are utilized by the operators in conducting their illegal activities.

While the Response Cluster Meeting/Coordinative Meeting for the DRRM Summit was on going last January 20, a Team from the Geosciences Division  (GSD) composed of Geologist Abbygail B. Soco and Cartographer Benjamin L. Sanaani, was also undertaking simultaneous ocular assessment and documentation within the City to monitor and determine the extent of the effect of geohazards brought about by the continuous raingfall.

january geoGeologist Kris Elvis N. Alferez of the Geosciences Division attended the Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council IX meeting (RDDRMC IX – OCD IX) last January 20, 2017 held at the Grand Astoria Hotel, Zamboanga City. The meeting was called for as a “Response Cluster Meeting/Coordinative Meeting for the DRRM Summit”, which was attended by various concerned government agencies like the Department of Education (DEPED), National Information and Communication Agency (NICA), Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), National Housing Authority (NHA), Department of Health (DOH), Philippine Volcanology and Seismology (PHILVOCS), Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Agency (PAGASA) and the Department of Science and Technology (DOST).